About Us

Our Mission

The Colorado Arts and Crafts Society (CACS) is a non-profit (501.C.3) volunteer organization dedicated to the study of the Arts and Crafts Movement in Colorado (c.1895-1920) through meetings and events such as lectures, tours and other educational programs that enhance awareness of this rich cultural heritage and stimulate interest in its preservation. We celebrated our 20th anniversary in 2017.

The Boettcher Mansion

The Colorado Arts and Crafts Society (CACS) was established in 1997 at the Boettcher Mansion, a National Register landmark built in 1917 as a seasonal retreat for Charles Boettcher. The former Lorraine Lodge turned 100 years old in 1917. There are also two historic context exhibits available for public viewing on the grounds. In 2005-07, the Mansion completed a multi-faceted Capital Improvement Plan, funded with $3.1 million from the State's Conservation Trust Fund. The project included construction of a compatible kitchen/storage addition and garden shed, many mechanical improvements (air-conditioning and snowmelt systems), and a period garden with native xeriscape plants, recycled flagstone and ambient lighting. A new slate roof with copper trim and gutters replaced the former wooden shakes and shingles. The interior is now resplendent with Stickley, Roycroft and other Mission-style furnishings, historic paint colors and Arts & Crafts-inspired wallpaper and stencil patterns.

Board of Directors

The current Board of Directors, Officers and Committee Chairs are: